Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
November 27, 1992     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
November 27, 1992

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

27, 1992 The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana 7 the Diocese Happy Birthd School and a member of Troop ay 182 whose chartered partner is Bishop Shea!. st. Joseph Church, Jasper. Bishop Francis R. Shea, re- red bishop of 1tl,, Diocese of Anniversaries vansville celebrates his birth- dayDo 4 ts'add';;;s s 3,, at Holy Family Bayard iark Drive Ev'ilasville IN Congratulations to coutdes at 477,4. Happy Birthday! p Msgr. James Llill, a relire(t rlest in the Diocese of yansville, celebrates his birth- day Dec. 2. ' " Father John Finis of Taswell, a riest ill the Diocese of celebrate, s his birth- 4. Holy Family Church, Jasper, cel- ebrating wedding anniversaries: Leo and Anita Fischer, 55 years; Edmund and Mary Ann Uebel- her, 46 years; Rudy and Ruth Vonderschmitt, 49 years; Arthur anti Anna Frick, 46 years; Ray and Clarissa Hochgesang, 42 vears; Urban and Anna Mac Wagner, 46 years; Charles and Helen Bohnert, 45 years: George and Loretta Burgan, 50 years. Wanda Reeker is secretary and Nancy Fest is treasurer. 10 years in 4-H Two members of lloly Family Church, Jasper, have completed 10 years of 4-tt. They are Lynn Dippel, the daughter of Jack and Mary lo Dippel, and Aiicia Von- derheide, the daughter of James and Pauline Vonderheide. Who's Who Bobhie Jean Wilhelmus, a first gra(le teac:her at Chrisney Ele- mentary School, Chrisney, has been included ill the see(rod e(li- tion of "Who's Who Among American Teachers for 1992." She is a rncqnher of St. Rupert Church, Red Brush. New Staff member Synod Task at Memorial Hospital Force, delegates St. John's Saul Greenbero, M D has b n ' ' at St. Anthony's cemetery board - amed staff psvchiatrist  latrMiedica.l Director of the Psy- Father Joseph Erbacher and Russell Titzer, Herman Joseph tel 'mtatMemorialHosni. Rosie Blessinger are Parish McAtee, Robert T. McAtee, |as ' health Care Centern Synod Task Force Delegates from Robert Matthews, Eileen Spoon- Cit,r A nat!re of New York St. Anthony Church, St. An- more, Mark Trout and Joseph   Greenber araduated rora the University of Chl:ago thony. Sue Wehr, James Brames, Jones are members of the Ceme- aad earned his me(hca James Wehr and Mildred Fis- tery Board for St. Jolm's Ceme- from .... " "" l degre cher are synod delegates, tory in Loogootee. .- orate University of New York, Where he also co fel ..... L. . mph.ted a,n pharmacology Christian Synod Task Eagle Scout Mothers Force at Jerenl Fromme Jane Durcholz is the president H, Rosary rece.v,V,L _ of Jas er has of the Christian Mothers Sodality FIeiTe_ me Eagle ScoutPward. at St. Anthony Church, St. An- Louise O'Connell, Roberta uPaomore at Jasper High thony. Fronie Dilger is secretary. Mattiugly and Jim Flynn are members of the Parish Svnod Task Force for Holy Rosary Church, Evansville. "Their re- sponsibility will be to serve as a liaison or communication chan- nel betwe, en the Central Planning Committee and us in the parish," according to Father Jean Vogler, pastor. Benedictines receive grant The Sisters of St. Benedict in Ferdinand have been awarded a $7,0o0 grant from Our Sunday_ Visitor Institute. The Sisters of St. Benedict plan to use the grant to expand their vocational efforts and to in- volve more sisters and lay people in the process of inviting wonmn to consider the religious life as an option for themselves, Please send information for AROUND THE DIOCESE to Mary Ann ltughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47724. In memory Members of the Junior High Religious Education Class at Holy Name Church, Bloomfield, plant tulip bulbs in honor of a classmate, Michael Moore, who died recently in an accident. Notebook ng Cap Quiz Bowl at St. Wendel's Students in sixth and es at St. Wendel In the are partici- awl," "Thinking Cap according to Ann )al. Quiz Bowl program in students may work in- or in small groups. It a Wide variety of topics Space, to government. Stu- repare ahead of time, and aay take a quiz of 100 They are scored ac- :l correct- r, 99 schools partici- St. Wendel students students include Sam Stephens, Spahn, Jamie lerr Wilderman, and Jamie Rexing. Mater Dot's Volleycats ralson has been All-State first team for volleyball. She is a member of the varsity volleyball team at Mater Dei High School, Evansville. Karrie Folz, Melissa Spahn and Susie Thompson were named to the All-City and All- Conference volleyball teams. Thompson was also named player of the year. Volleyball coach Darlene Rooney was named Coach of the Year. The team captured the school's eighteenth city title, its fifteenth conference title, its seventeenth sectional crown, and its seventh regional championship. The team record was 28 wins and 1, losses. The reserve squad, coached by ]ulie Seib. had 21 victories and six loses. The freshman team completed their season 17 and 3. Math Counts at Corpus Christi Seventeen students at Corpus Christi School, Evansville. are on the Math Counts team. Eighth graders: Gary Fischer, Cast lost, Gabe Maddox, Beck Oliver, Aaron Push, Nick Schap- ker and Matt Schreiber. Seventh graders: Lisa Acton, Brandon Boots, Dustin Lannerl, Shawn Lewis, Robby Mallory, John Paul Marsh, Adam Reine, :h Sheet Metal Inc. i ustrial & Commercial Heating & Cooling nstallation Sales & Service 422-9242 [ Koch 15 S. Third Avenue. Evansville RUXER FORD" LINCOLN . MERCURY JASPER 482-1200 ] Adam Siemers, Christy Ulrich and Elizabeth Vindhurst. Contest winners in Rockport Jared Romans, Valerie Lash- Icy and Stacy Sorenson, students at St, Bernard School, Rockport, are first, second and third place winners in the Red Ribbon Week poster contest. First prize Lauren Breeze. a first grader at St. Matthew School. Mount Ver- non. has won first prize in the first grade division of the Drug Awareness Poster Contest spon- sored by the PDFC {Providing a Drug Free Commuity.) She is the daughter of Paul and Martha Breeze of New Har- mony. MI)'s novice speech team Members of the novice speech team at Mater Del High School, Evansville. received a third place trophy at North High School tournament Nov. 14. Heather Kleinschmtdt, Melissa Kiefer and Craig Fehrenhaeher received first place ribbons. Kellie Scott, Lori Grles, Cathy Will. ]udd Hobgood and Severin Kempf received second place rib- bons. Kim Fluty. Amanda Kay, Missy Moahlenkamp and Lauren Brady received third place rib- bons. Peter Stoltz received a fourth place ribbon: Stephanie Scheller and Erin Smyth re- ceiw;d fifth place ribbons. Day of Appreciation Seniors honored Laurie Schopmeyer was pre- sented with a sunlight window medallion in honor of National Day of Appreciation for Catholic School Principals on November 19. She is assistant principal at Westside Catholic Consolidated Intermediate School, Evansville. The students and staff thanked her for "everything you have done to make otlr st:hoot a warm and loving place to work and learn." Seven senior members of the band at Memorial High hool, Evansville. were honored, along with their parents, at a recent football game. They are Joe Dick- inson, Gina Goebel, Erin Lutz, Steve McCoy, lennifer Rohy, Kim Schiavone and Eric Titter. The band is under the direction of Jim Walling. Please send information for : SCHOOL NO8OOK U, Ma Ann Hu, Tile M; P.O, Box 4169, Evilte, IN 47724. The deadline far copy is 9 a.m. i the Friday re publication,