Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
November 20, 1987     The Message
PAGE 9     (9 of 20 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 9     (9 of 20 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
November 20, 1987

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

November 20, 1987 The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana Around the Diocese I 4, + 35th anniversary Parishioners of Holy Redeemer khurch, Evansville, gathered Nov. 15 to celebrate the 35th an- niversary of their parish. Events of the day included an' afternoon Mass, reception, historical program and skating party for the youth of the parish. Around 250-300 people attended the reception, according to Father William Wargel, pastor. "It was a beautiful time for memories to get talked about," he said. "It was a celebration of the heart of Holy Redeemer." he memories that were recall- ed and remembered serve as "an inspiration to face the future," Father Wargel explained. The parish was created when the North Park area of Evansville was still farmland. A temporary metal building was constructed and served as the first church. The first Mass was celebrated there on Nov. 15, 1952. At that time, there were 90 families and 408 members. The parish grew rapidly and a new church building was completed in Feb. 1960. HoIF Redeemer School was opened in 1956, with an enroll- ment of 279. Today, the parish is home to 1130 families with 3380 members. New officers The Little Sisters of the Poor Auxiliary of St. Joseph has elected new officers for 1987-88. They are Fie Griese, president; ,)orothy Thurgood, vice- president; Mary Ellen Mueller, recording secretary; Hazel Hayden, corresponding secretary, and Mildred Fuquay, treasurer. Happy birthday Father Joseph Swartz of St. Parishioners who attended the 35th Anniversary reception at Holy Redeemer enjoyed meeting past priests and religious who returned for the celebration, according to Father Wargel. He said they also realized the value of historic pictures, and wished there were more of them for the parish chronology. "Maybe every parish ought to consider having a photographer assigned to help record parish events," he said. ---, Message Photo by Paul Lelngang Matthew Church, Mount Ver- non, celebrates his birthday Nov. 24. Halloween Twenty-two seventh and eighth graders from St. John Church, Loogootee, enjoyed a "frightfully" good time at a church-sponsored Halloween party. Chaperoning the party were Mark Jeffers, Sister Patty Lasher, Andy Arvin, Scott Hendrick, Nancy McAtee, Alice Weisheit and Leslie Doyle. Anniversaries Lee and Anita Fischer of Holy Family Church, Jasper, are celebrating their fiftieth wedding anniversary. Congratulations to couples at St. Theresa Church, Evansville, as they celebrate wedding an- nivarsaries: Jim and Sue Brown, 41 years; Bill and Rosemarie Vin- sen, 44 years; and Ray and Mary Wagner, 47 years. Congratulations" to couples at Holy Family Church, Jasper, as they celebrate wedding anniver- saries: Ebb and Mary Ann Uebelhor, 41 years; Rudy and Ruth Vonderschmitt, 44 years; Roman and Leena Song, 51 years, and Bill and Bert Stern- berg, 44 years. St. Vincent de Paul Stephen Howard is president of the St. Vincent de Paul Society at Holy Family Church, Jasper. Elected to office Tammy Ambs of St. Bernard Church, Rockport, has been in- stalled as treasurer of the Owensboro Practical Nursing Students Health Occupations of America. New officers Cheryl Hasenour is the new vice-president of the Christian Mothers Sodality at St. Anthony Church, Dubois County. Jane Durcholz is the new secretary. 4-H members Five members of Holy Family Church, Jasper, were recently honored for their lO-year inv01Ve- ment in 4-H. They are Stacy Werner, Deanne Hentrup, lulie Durcholz, Shelley Freyberger and Kelley Sermersheim. Religious ed Judy Kaiser is the new religious education secretary at St. Joseph Church, Vanderburgh County. 150th anniversary Don Hutchinson is chairperson of the 150th anniversary commit- tee at St. Joseph Church, Vander- burgh County. Chairpersons of the research committee will b. Cyril and Wilma Ubelhor. Please send information for PEOPLE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47711. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publication date. Corpus Christi Plans to open a kindergarten class at Corpus Christi School, Evansville, for the 1988-89 school year are underway, according to Scott Whitehouse principal. He said plans are in the works to remodel space in the basement of the old convent for a library and kindergarten classroom. The school accepts pro- registration five years ahead and already has 25 children pro- enrolled for next year's kindergarten class, Whitahonse said, with one child on a waiting list. There are 25 children pre- enrolled for the 1989-90 Gerteisen, Jason Broshears and Regis St. Louis. Jasper committee Sister Louise and lohnnie Heeke, will represent Holy Family School, Jasper, on the Chemical Substance Committee for the Jasper School Corporation. Culture committee Members of the Culture Com- mittee for the Holy Family School Board are Pat Uebelhor, Karen Murray and Judy Mehringer. Soccer team their league. Coaches were Mike Dean, Paul Boyle, Beth Steven- son and Peter Stephensen. Booster Club Greg BerBer is membership chairman of the Booster Club at Holy Fauflly School, Jasper. ' HR Speech team Members of the Holy Redeemer School speech team are Corrie Alvey, Shawn Arendt, Matt Al- vin, Christa Blaize, Aaron Father Robert Dais, pastor of Christ the King Church, Evansville, joins second grader Patrick Roe for lunch. The pastor tries to eat lunch with the Christ the King students as often as his schedule per- mite. "I've done this all my life, when I was at Memorial, at Washington, and at Haubstadt. It's a wonderful way to get to know the kids and their families and what's going on at school." -- Message Photo by Mary Ann Hughes Couture, Darren Dean, Jason Godsey, Jeff Hines, Jared Hob$ood, Lymae Kempf, Chip Lannert, April Martin, Marcie Memmer, Craig Miller, Leah Mc- Combs, Kim Nosko and Kristy Osborne. Also on the team are Sara Osborne, Todd Parker, Maria Russell, Mark Santillan, Seen Sandwell, Willy Sherwood, Sarah Sitzman, Kelly Stieff, Stacy Statman, Elaine Walker, Kara Wells, Darrin Wicks, Diana Wilderman, Meredith Wflkersen and Michelle Winters. Evansville areK ira Stephens, Lorl Famis, Susan Donahue and Diane Bubenzer. Please send information for SCHOOL NOTEBOOK to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Choral officers Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47711. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. Officers for the Choral depart- i the Friday before publication ment at Memorial High School, date. Ribbon winners in a 10-school speech competition from St. Benedict School, Evansville, were Michael Tempel, Dan Speech competition Twelve children are pre- enrolled for the 1991-92 year and nine children -- one of them four-weeks-old -- are pro- enrolled for the 19'93 kindergarten class. Corpus Christi has 168 students enrolled in grades one through eight this year, Whitehousa said. kindergarten class and 17 children pre-emolled for the The Holy Redeemer girls varsi- Lunch bunch 1990-91 kindergarten class, ty soccer team finished first in