Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
November 11, 1994     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
November 11, 1994

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

__November 11, 1994 The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana 7 I nd the Diocese Deacon anniversary Deacon Gilbert Fehren- bacher of St. Joseph Church, Vanderburgh County, was or- dained a deacon Nov. 16, 1980. ii: i 'I DR. FLOURA Staffing at JasPer Memorial Dr. Kamaljit Floura a s ialist in -s ..... ' pe- .... v ycnzatry, has joined e medical staff at Memor _OsPital ad H .... ial n ealth Care enter, Jasper. He C0mpletecl his master of Surgery Studies at Mit versitv ; ..... hlla Uni- his res..'' "zaar, India, and did tency in ps ch 0rwih ,, Y zatry at Coaa " rX0spital in Norwich, ,Trick or Treat at St. Celestine Members of the Confirmation Class at St. Celestine Church, Celestine, went "Trick or Treat- ing" this year for canned goods for the needy. Every Halloween, the class goes to the homes of parish- ioners and asks for canned goods instead of candy. This year, the class was driven by John Bros- mer and Joe Brosmer. 40 years Congratulations to Eugene and Laverne Knies, parish- ioners at St. Celestine Church, Celestine, who recently cele- brated their fortieth wedding an- ' , niversary. PPY Birthdav! Anniversaries o;Jo.ep z" zha as St; :T.,_ k, p tor Chttrch,::n the Baptist at St, Theresa his bills_ .wourgh, celebrates Congratulations to couples at .... uaj ov. 20 St. Theresa Church, Evans. ville, celebrating wedding an- niversaries: Jack and Betty Bridges, 43 years; Audry and Mary Lou Titzer, 46 years; Ted and Margie Hoesli, 45 years. Parish Council at St. Joseph Butch Feulner is president of the Parish Council at St. Joseph Church, Vander- burgh County. Jim Werner is vice-president and Sister Rose Wildeman is secretary. Anniversaries at Nativity Congratulations to couples at Nativity Church, Evansville, celebrating November wedding anniversaries: Glen and Jea- nine Grant, 43 years; Fred and Pat Singer, 43 years. Poet published Matthew Shown, a St. Mein- rad College sophomore, recently had a poem published in Poetic Voices of America. 47 years Congratulations to Ralph "Cotton" and Mary Catherine Bloomfield's Parish Council Members of the Parish Pastoral Council at Holy Name Church, Bloomfield, include, front row, Mary Anne Farris, Paul Ferguson, Pat Brunamonti, standing, Richard Wet- zel, Sharon Conley, Grey Lehman, Veronica Wappes, Tom Wappes and Benedictine Sister Diane Fischer, pastoral life coordinator. Dennis Gries, Frank Montgomery and Katherine Laws were not available for the photo. Stemle, parishioners at St. Joseph Church, Jasper, who celebrate their forty-seventh wedding anniversary Nov. 11. Please send information for AROUND THE DIOCESE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47724. of kindness hington teachers in the ille have to report stu- of Kindness. Engleman, ington chool, , wrote to tell about znCident: girls' volley- school for ng the fall. They :he school build- for their time, the teach- girls with teachers' book nitely consider Franklin Col- lege." Rivet students who also at- tended the competition included Max Fischer, Katie Meyer, Bob Stevenson, Ann Nowaskie and Daniel Can- non. Kindness at Precious Blood As part of the diocesan "Kind- ness Revolution," several classes at Precious Blood School, Jasper, have chosen parish- ioners as "adopted grandpar- ents" and students will be per- forming special acts of kindness for them throughout the year. day, those same Who's Who the favor by sur- Yvonne Evans, a teacher at with a 'ackers, cookies goodies. We kas a very nice ndaess!',, Birthday! e Sister Mary principal at School, Celebrates her 19. CS Student at Vin. 'P Scorer in at the College High Competi. a full-tu- Undecided be at- agree to "deft- Washington Catholic Ele- mentary School, Washington, has been named to Who's Who Among America's Teachers. First place Stephen Schaefer and Chris Spahn,.students at Mater Dei High School, Evansville, re- ceived first place in the Nov. 5 varsity debate meet at North High School. Ribbons at Holy Spirit Congratulations to students at Holy Spirit School, Evans- ville, who received ribbons at the first speech meet: Emily Waller, second; Miehelle Jones, fifth; Jaynie Harpole, first; Carrie White, second; Nathan Redman, fourth; Jill Keller, third; Danielle Met- zger, third. Oct. 20 meet results Congratulations to students at Corpus Christi School, Evansville, who received rib- bons at the Oct. 20 speech meet: Jessica Butler, Jenny Effin- ger, first; Andrea I-aller, Amanda Uhde, second; Chris- tine Well, Molly Topper, Scott Miller, third; Tom Feller, Jackie Helmerich, Elita Sheridan, Crystal Spivey, fourth; Margaret Hal. big, Krista Dausman, Lorna Fischer, Stephanie Ulrich, fifth. All-Conference Jill Fehrenbacher and Heather Kissel, students at Mater Dei High School, Evansville, have been named to the All-Conference Volleyball Team. Amy Braun has been named to the SIAC All-Confer- ence Girls Clf Team and Kristi Niemeier was named to SIAC All-Conference Cross Country Team. St. Wendel's speech team Congratulations to students at St. Wendel School, St. Wen- del, who received ribbons at the speech meet: Andrea Goedde, Ben Stephens, first; Lisa Dil- ger, Kim Pritchett,. Amanda Herr, Alicia Wilderman, sec- ond; Lynn Spahn, Angle Pay- ton, Nichole Biggs, Jamie Spahn, third; Mary Beth Effinger, Joe Stephens, Zach Will, fourth; Sheryl Goedde, Jodi Bittner, Mindy Wargel, Stefanie Stevens, Kendra Schmitt, Jamie Will, Kevin Spahn, fifth. St. Joe's Speech Team Congratulations to students at St. Joseph School, Vander- burgh County, who received ribbons at last week's speech meet: Adam Raben, Jamie Cutrell, Joni Schwartz, first; Jamie Schmitt, second; Angle Reckelhoff, Debra Wade, Kristen Baehl, Julie Elpers, third; Megan Zirkelbach, Jes- sica Happe, fourth; Ryan King, LeAndra Koch, Kort- hey Weber, Wade Miller, Jason Hall, Sara Hall, fifth. Ribbons at St. Benedict Elizabeth Nimnicht, Beth Blair, Sarah Gore, Abbey Schmitt, Rochelle Dooley, Andrea Jefferson, Christine Jefferson, Jessica Brown, Chelsea' Ward, Meredith Ward, Hannah Pitt, Ben Coomes, Amanda McAlister, Starla Wisdom, Aimee Byr- ley, Lina Ghosh and Justin Klatsky received first place rib- bons at the Oct. 20 speech meet. They are students at St. Bene- dict School Evansville. Other St. Ben',s ribbonwlnner included Timesha Parker, Lauren Hahn, Emily De- Legge, Jada Daniel, Heather Fishburn, Adrienne Wuertz, Matt Lasher, Jeremy Funk, Emily Stephens, Hilary Boyle, John Effinger, Evan Keith, second; Erin Fishburn, Leila McReynolds, Maria Amodio, Sarah Rietman, Bryan Brinkmeyer, Dana Heerdink, Kate Will, third; Jamie Happe, Stephanie Brown, Kaci Wittmer, Joe Pruiett, fourth; Katie Di- Legge, Samia McReynolds, Gena Elpers, Shea Perkins, Adam Hayden, Eric Hahn, Sarah Woehler, Kris Mc- Combs, Rachelle Rehribach, fifth. Please send information for SCHOOL NOTEBOOK to Mary Ann Hughes, The Mes- sage, P.O. Box 4169, Evans- ville, IN 47724. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publication. AUTO RATES INCREASING? TEENAGE DRIVERS? Call us'today for discounts Good student discounts Auto/Home discounts Good Driver discounts INSURANCE AGENCY 464-5993 JAMES A. NIEMEIER Mate Dei Crass d '69