Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
June 23, 1995     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
June 23, 1995

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

23, 1995 The Message m for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana , Meinrad. community Archabbey re- the fiftieth ju- ordination of Father Alban and Benedictine Fa- Lies, members of the community. Berling made his of vows on August 6, was ordained to the on Feb. 2, 1945, ordination, Father ras assigned to St. Huntingburg. to 1961, he served at St. Benedict le. as pastor at St. Xavier Church, and from 1975 to returned as pastor in ee years, he was the Sisters of St. in Ferdinand. Lies also professed on August 6, 1940, to the priest- 2, 1945. lng ordination, he geometry, reli- and homiletics at served as associate ed- for Grail tonga- Press. From 1958 Was general manager 5 Years he served in Office at St. Anniversaries of ordination Father Henry Sztuczko, a retired priest living at Provi- dence Home, Jasper, was or- dained to the priesthood June 29, 1948. Father Thaddeus Sz- tuezko, administrator of Providence Home, Jasper, was ordained to the priesthood June 29, 1953. Father Matthew Jaskula, a retired priest living at Prov- idence Home, Jasper, was ordained to the priesthood June 29, 1953.  The three priests are Sons of Divine Providence. Research Scholarship Phyllis Beshears, diocesan director of schools, is the recip- ient of the 1995 Edgar L. Mor- phet Research Scholarship in Education award, Robert Boyd, chair of the De- partment of Educational Ad- ministration at Indiana State University, wrote, "Your pro- fessional dedication and aca- demic commitment to excel- lence in leadership preparation is acknowledged through the granting of this award." Visiting Tony Ernst, a diocesan MILLER & MILLER "Funeral Pre-Planning Since 1940" 424-9274 seminarian at Mundelein School of Theology, will be doing his Summer Ministry Experience at St. Theresa Church, Evansville, this summer. He is from St. Celes- tine Church, Celestine. Serra Club officers in Jasper John Fierst has been in- stalled as president of the Jasper Deanery Serra Club. Jerry and Lora Alstadt are serving as first vice-presi- dents in charge of programs. Ambrose Schmitt is vice- president in charge of voca- tions, and membeI:ship vice- president is Charles Seger. Norberf'Schroeder is trea- surer, and George Lythgoe is secretary. Richard Kocher, Dr. Fran- cis Gootee and Thomas Schnellenberger are trustees. Father Donald Spaulding is chaplain. Serra Club, officers in Evansville Delores Brothers has been installed as president of the Evansville Serra Club. Brad Bath is first vice-pres- ident in charge of programs, Grog Kompf is second vice- president in charge of member- ship, Steve Thomas is third vice-president in charge of vo- cations, and Theresa Forster is fourth vice-president in charge of communications. Mike DeJean is secretary and Jack Memmer is trea- surer. AI Gretler, Guerin Bernardin and Steve Titzer are trustees, and Robert Bernardin is past president. Deacon Richard Preske has joined Father Ken Herr as chaplain. Dean's List Eugene Schmitt of PoseyviHe has been named to the Dean's List at Cardinal Stritch College. He is a reli- gious studies major. St. Matthew PTA Jaina Paciorkowski will serve as PTA president at St. Matthew School, Mount Vernon, this fall. Other offi- cers will include Terri Anger- meier, vice-president; Carol Cairns, secretary; Mary Kuper, treasurer. Election winners Pari.hioners at St. Joseph Church, Vanderburgh County, who have won recent parish elections include: Parish Council: Margaret Angermeier, Richard Klaus- meier. Finance Committee: Bryan Craney, David Schmitt, Kathy Winzapfel. Board of Education: Mary K. Fehrenbacher, Kathy Hall, Doug Schnautz. Anniversaries at St. Joseph Congratulations to couples at St. Joseph Church, Evansville, celebrating wed- ding anniversaries: Adolph and Mary Lou Schultz, 49 Anniversaries at St. Theresa Congratulations to couples at St. Theresa Church, Evans' ville, celebrating wedding an- niversaries: James and Ann Bartley, 50 years; Albert and Clara Ziolkowski, 55 years; Robert and Marilyn Schuler, 45 years. Serra Awards Jill Bartlett, the daughter of Tim and Debbie Bartlett, and Andy Woehler, the son of Sam and Connie Woehler, are the recipients of the Serra Awards at St. Philip School, St.Philip. Mary F. Thomas awards Mary F. Thomas Awards, given to eighth graders at Good Shepherd School, Evansville, have been awarded to Joy Weber and Rob Smith. The high school achievement award was given to Shari Titzer. SIAC Students named to the Southern Indiana Athletic Conference team include: Boys Golf: Matt Scheessele, Dan Traylor, Memorial High School, Evansville: years; Jack and Jeanette Baseball: Ryan Miller, Boyd, 44 years; Henry and Jmmn Broahoara M=....=! Irene rowers, u years, Girls Track:Katie'Barber, Dickie and Katherine Ben- nett, 49 years. Elections at Resurrection Results of the parish election at Resurrection Church, Evansville, include * Danny Armstrong, Coun- cil-at-large member of the Parish Council. JoAnna Stratman, Jim Will Jr., Education Commission. , Kathy Armstrong, Becky Goans, Lisa Gross- man, Karen Will, Resurrec- tion Parish Club. Memorial. Girls Tennis: Courtney Hague, Natalie Palmenter, Angola Sabella, Margo Stevenson, Tricia Trapp, Memorial. Girls Softball: Staci Zeller, Memorial. Please send information for AROUND THE DIe. CESE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47724. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publica- tion. 2 AUTO TOPS, SEAT COVERS" BOAT COVERS STEREO SALES & INSTALLATIONS 254-3943 HWY 50 EAST, BEHIND UPS CENTER EUGENE WELR OWNER AUTo RATES INCREASING? C TEENAGE DRIVERS? all _ us today for discounts "Ood student discounts Auto/Home discounts GOod Driver discounts INSURANCE AGENCY 464-5993 DENNIS K. FELDHAUS Mater Dei Class o| '70