Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
June 8, 1990     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
June 8, 1990

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

Around the Diocese 7 I I Ill Father Fichter to celebrate 60th anniversary Father August Fichter of the St. lohn's Home for the Aged, Evansville, will celebrate his sixtieth anniversary of ordination to the priesthood on June 10. Father Fichter was born August 9, 1906; He Was ordained to the priesthood in 1930. He has served at St. Peter Church, Montgomery; Holy Trinity Evansville: St. Clement Church, Boonville; St. Vincent de Paul Church, Vincennes, and St. Joseph Church, Jasper. He also served as director of St. Vincent's Orphanage. Fie retired in 1973. Happy Birthday! Father Frank Renner of St. Joseph Church, Jasper, celebrates his birthday June 9. Anniversaries of ordination Msgr. Omer Meyer, treasurer of the Diocese of Evansville, celebrates the anniversary of his ordination to the priesthood June 11. Father Clarence Schlachter of Evansville celebrates the anniver- sary of his ordination to the priesthood June 11. Father Earl Schmitt of Fort Myers, Florida, celebrates the an- niversary of his ordination to the priesthood June 11. Father Raymond Schroering of St. Wendel Church, St. Wendel, celebrates the anniversary of his ordination to the priesthood June 11. Father Donald Spaulding of St. Raphael Church, Dubois, celebrates the anniversary of his ordination to the priesthood June 15. Deacon anniversary Hubert Wilson, a deacon at St. Joseph Church, Evansville, celebrates the anniversary of his ordination as a deacon June 9. Anniversaries at St. Theresa Congratulations to couples at St. Theresa Church, Evansville, celebrating wedding anniver- saries: Starlin and Irene Williams, 46 years; Dave and Marl Schellhase, 47 years; Horace and Irene Bacon, 52 years; Roman and Nadine Spir- inger, 47 years; Jim and Ann Bartley, 45 years; Albert and Clara Ziolkowski, 50 years. Parish elections at Holy Family Winners of a recent parish elec- tion at Holy Family Church, Jasper, are Steve Sutton, vice- president of the parish council; Lloyd Gudorf, church affairs; Jan Block, community affairs; Diana Sergesketter, education; Jeannie Wendholt, family life: John Gutgsell, finance; Rita Daunhauer, organizational ser- vices; Melody Schmidt, youth, and Judy Freyberger and Mark Schmidt, school board. Ladies Sodality representatives are Doris Egler, Rita Schroering, Marilyn Casper and Carole Feltner. 50 years Sister Eileen Price O.S.B. will celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of her religious profession of vows June 10 at Our Lady of Grace Monastery in Beech Grove, |n. A founding member of Our Lady of Grace, Sister Price entered the Ferdinand Benedic- tine Community in 1938. St. Joseph. pansh electons Winners of the parish elections at St. Joseph Church, Vander- burgh County, are: Board of Education -- Jean Martin, Lesa Raben, Steve Schmitt and Kathy Weiss. Finance Committee -- Mike Beshears, Dave DeWitt and Butch Feulner. Worship Committee -- Diane Bassemier, Darwin Goedde and Doris Thornton. Family Community Life -- Mary Kay Fehrenbacher, Nancy See PEOPLE page 16 25 years Father William Wargel, pastor of Holy Redeemer Church, Evansville, Rives Communion to his mother, Olivia Wargel, dur- ing a Mass celebrating his twenthy-fifth anniversary of ordination to the priesthood. Sister Bernadine completes 40 years in education Congratulations to Sister Ber- aadine Nash O.S.U., principal at St. Philip School, St. Philip. At the close of this school year, she will complete her fortieth year in Catholic education and her twenty-fifth year as a principal. Gene Logel to receive honor Gene Legal, retiring teacher at Memorial High School, Evansville, will receive Distinguished Service Award from the Friends and Alumni of Memorial High School, Ac- cording to Bob Ossenherg, association president. Logel was given the 1990 Teacher of the Year award, which is sponsored by the Message and a the Office of Education. Leadership trophy winners Mater Dei-ville The mayor, clerk and judge of Mater Dei-ville have been elected by the student body at Mater Dei High School, Evansville, for the 1990-91 school year. Katherine Werner will serve as mayor, Marc Halbig as judge and Amy Waninger as clerk. Councilpersons at-large will be Rohyn Moore and Janie Rauck, senior class; Dan Gelarden, junior class, and Kevin Wilson, sophomore class. Mater Dei sports awards Darryl Adler, a senJ, gr at Mater Dei High School, Evansville, is the 1990 recipientof the KiWards Award in baseball. Mater Dei students Myron Raising and Melanie Emge received Kiwanis Awards in track. Elections at Holy Spirit Rita Fairchild is the newly elected president of the educa- tion commission at Holy Spirit School, Evansville. Cathy Wathen will be vice-president. and Joan Otis will be secretary. Sara Pruiett will also be a member of the education commission. PTA officers will be Bonnie Wink, president; Rhonda Schrooder, vice-president; Don- na Hunt, secretary, and Mary Lou Bradley, treasurer. Science Fair ; ,!eu students at St. Joseph School, Vnderbmlh County, received trophies for their "outstudin8 mademhip, 8portsmamlp and for mttin8 Cbridlan example for the youmpr cltJldren." They jure, at Holy Cross [t row, 1, An nttel, Aaron Imksudmm, Petmr F, Gre8 lUmml,  Will, Heath Fourth and filth grade winners ,...,..:..,,,...  !, a., F.,.7.  i,H" m,,. m.. ...... i., the i... Fa at ., ,--. School, Fort Branch, were: Fourth grade -- April Blankenberger, first; Chris Schaefer, second; Susanna Dewig, third. Fifth grade -- Megan Harming, first; Lori Obert, second; Amy Reinhart, third. Huntingburg scholarship Lynn Wright, a member of St. Mary Church, Huntingburg, is the recipient of the Dora and Ray Link Scholarship. High honors Todd Klein arid Steve Reckelhoff. members of St. An- thony Church, St. ,nthony, have been chosen co-valedictorians of their high school graduating class. Scholarships Seniors at Marian Heights Academy, Ferdinand, receiving college scholarships and grants include: Marie Tedrick, Phyllis Riney, Raffaella Romano, Sandy Steve, Annette Klier. Rhonda Farmer. Rhonda Fleming, Angela Farmer, Pell Grants. Sandy Steve, Bureau of Indian Affairs scholarship. Jenny Olson, Tulane Universi- ty grant. Krlsti Pnacek. Sienna Heights College academic scholarship, Sister Carmelia scholarship. Annette Kiler, Spauldln8 University honor scholarship, Shannon Mainsly, Bellar- mine college service schoisrshlp. I(mlm KJeffer, Illinois Benedic. tins Collese scho!p. , . sms(:oLw s