Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
May 1, 1998     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
May 1, 1998

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana 7 in the Religious Education Program at St. Boonville, invited parishioners to donate [ non-perishable food items throughout Lent. bags were collected for Tricap Food • The students and catechists include Adam Libbert, Debbie Tucker, Connie McDaniel, Samantha Alvey, Erica Downey, Marc LeMond and Bart Schnur. 18 team w, Ben Werne, Neal Brassard, Brent Jeremy Schaeffer, Carrie Birge, second Kara Shaneyfelt, Danielle Patterson, Lisa Campbell, Hillary Hochgesang and are members of the Math Bowl team at School, Jasper. They are coached by Denise placed sixth at state level, and the school a certificate as a "Top Ten" qualifier. Bishop's anniversary Bishop Gerald A. Gettelfinger, fourth bishop of the Diocese of Evansville, was ordained a priest May 7, 1961. Happy Birthdayl Msgr. Roman Vollmer, a retired priest of the Dio- cese of Evansville, celebrates his birthday May 6. He resides at Regina Continuing Care Center, 3900 Wash- ington Ave., Evansville IN 47714. Son of Divine Providence Father Angelo Quadrini, a associate at Providence Home in Jasper, celebrates his birthday May 8. Anniversaries of ordination Father Ron Zgunda, pastor of St. Mary Church, Washington, was ordained a priest May 6, 1977. Father Mark Kurzendoerfer, chaplain at Mater Dei High School, Evansville, and sacramental minister at St. Thomas Church, Vincennes, was ordained a priest May 8, 1981. He resides at the Faculty Residence, 1500 Lincoln Ave., Evansville IN 47714. Father Wilfred Englert, pastor of St. Joseph Church, Evansville, was ordained a priest May 9, 1986. Deacon anniversary Richard Preske of Holy Rosary Church, Evansville, was ordained a deacon May 9, 1981. Anniversaries at St. Theresa Congratulations to couples at St. Theresa Church, Evansville, celebrating wedding anniversaries: James and Mary Murphy, 45 years; Ray and Camilla Dick, 51 years; Paul and Alice Condi, 47 years; Rollie and lrene Lampkins, 54 years; William and Mary Mattingly, 58 years; David and Elsie Grant, 52 years; Wilbur and Elvera Godeke, 52 years; Clarence and Lucy Mits- darffer, 46 years; Elwood and Lola Acton" 43 years; Ben and Pat Nellis, 49 years; Joe and Sue Pence, 40 years. Golden anniversary Congratulations to Rose and Darrell Erwin, parish- loners at SL Simon Church, Washington, who recent- ly celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. Mater Dei Memorial Auction Margaret and Ron Angermeier and Anna Justak are chairpersons of the third annual Mater Dei/Memor- ial Auction and Cash Bonanza which will be held Sept. 19 at the Holiday Inn Airport. Steering Committee members include • Kathy and m Hubert, Shawn and Steve Eichoff, Karen and Dean Bosler, Cash Bonanza; • Kim Hermann" Doug Rasler, Leon and Dorothy Howell, Rick Weber, Anna Muriel Pitts, Ellen Elpers, Major and Silent Auction; • Ann Duell, Bridget Meader, Mary Ann Hughes, publicity; • Chris Bruce, cataloging; • Bill Longtine, vacation trips; • Mike Blake, master of cere- monies: • Hugh Miller, auctioneer; • Charleen Spear, silent auction monitors; • Lisa Mattingly, decoractions; • Gene Stevens, theme and logo; • Joan Bematz, invitations; • Connie Kain" food chairperson; • Rose Montrastelle, runners and spotters; • Dorothy W'dliams, Joan Bematz, Gayle Markwell, mailing committee. • Schutte Lithtraphy, Inc., print+ ing; • Doug Rasler, set up and tear down; 4 Jerry Mattingly, gourmet gallop; • Tom Bartley, table captain chair- person. of the lYl'O at SL Benedict School, Evansville, this fall. Janet Belisle will be vice-presidenL Janet Kilbane will be secretary, and Jennifer Browning will be tre&urer. National Honor Ana Lourdes Almada, Sonia Felix, Rossana Ferdandez, Greta Naylor, April Cihon, Nathifa Davis, Erin t'IkieAn Lett, Lucinda Steele and Crystal v'.v"' +'i 7++: +  -?+:'7 7/ ',` + aret+'t. +++, i Jeff Hayes, a student at the Uni- National Honor Soclet; at Marian verstS' of Southern Indiana, is observ- ing social studies classes at Westside Catholic Consolidated School, Evansville. Happy Birthdayl Dennis Bradley, principal at Wash- ington Catholic Middle School, cel- ebrates his birthday May 7. JoAnn Layman, principal at SL James School, St. James, celebrates her birthday May 9. PrO Ann Topper and Suzanne Grim- wood will be serving as co-pmsklents Heights Academy, Ferdinand. Ad contest Nick Unfried, an eighth grader at Resurrection School, Evansville, is a first place winner in the Thrifty Nick- el design an ad contest. Se,enth grader Marc Wolf is a sec- ond place winner, and sixth grader Kevin Tepooi is a third place winner. Math-a-then Students at Resurrection School, Evansville, have collected $1,49624 through a Math-a-thon for St. Jude's Children's Hospital. t Street Stratman $, Prop. Please Suppo t Message Advertisers PAUL'S PHARMACY Paul Mayer, Owner 2345 W. Franklin St. 425-4364 Plaza Pharmacy Newburgh Plaza Shopping Center Fast Prescdptk Ken and Rebecca Hacker 853-7141 Diary olAnne Frank Seventh graders at Christ the King School, Evansville, recently produced the play The Diary of Anne Frank. Cast and crew members include, front row, Mary Beth Nalin, Courtney Layman, MeUssa Daily, Jenny Brown, Emily Flittner, so, could row, Katie Alsip, Brooke Wininse Blair McCtrthy, Ben Meichoirs, Rachei Kiooz, third row, Jenny Evans, Katie Flittner,/ourtk row, Chris Kent, Chris Foiz, Midu Duhn and Maria Dickinson, director.