Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
April 15, 1994     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
April 15, 1994

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

I,lS, 1994 The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana of the Junior Girl St. Benedict lie, partici- Super Cities Walk Sclrosis on April 10. in honor of Gentry, a mere- Parish and St, Benedict Jake Gentry, is in L grade at St. Ben's. d with M.S. W! Bultman of Xavier Church, celebrates his birth- Anniversary of ordination Father Robert Nemergut, a member of the Urban Ministry Team, was ordained to the priesthood April 22, 1977. Vocations Committee A Vocations Committee has been formed at St. Benedict Church, Evansville, to discuss ways to foster and support voca- tions. Jim French is chairman of the group and regular members include Dorothy and George Weigel, Louise and Dennis Mehringer, Mel Clemons and Dan Hartman. Marian Igle- hart, Rosemary Laugel, John Davidson, Pete Werner and Charlie Woertz have also been in attendance. Board members at Sacred Heart Bill Denham, Pat Denham, Matt Atkinson, Amy Atkin- son, Duane Chattin and Lu- cille Pierpont are members of the RCIA board at Sacred Heart Church, Vincennes. Leona Conn is president of the parish Altar Society and Barbara Goodman is vice- president. Loretta Roales is treasurer and Della Kowalski is secretary. Frank Becher is president of the St. Vincent de Paul Society. James Kerlin is secretary and Ed Ottensmeyer is treasurer. Members include Steve Bur- rail, Wayne Dittelberger, Tim Hill, Larry Hofstetter, John McGowan, Gerard Schwartz, Joseph Smith and John Thomas. Lucille Pierpont, Diane Bono and Betty Zeller are members of the parish Martha Ministry. Anniversaries at St. Joseph Congratulations to couples at St. Joseph Church, Evans- ville, celebrating wedding an- niversaries: Paul and Mary Gist, 57 years; Wesley and Dorothy Hickey, 49 years; Jim and Margaret Morris, 46 years; Charles and Mildred Harris, 49 years. Parish directory at Resurrection Bonnie Allen, Joanie Niemeier and Martha Kores. sel were in charge of the parish pictorial directory at Resurrec- tion Church, Evansville. 60 years Congratulations to Jack and Mary Mayer, members of St. Benedict Church, Evansville, as they celebrate their sixtieth wedding anniversary. Please send information for AROUND THE DIOCESE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47724. The dead- line for copy is 9 a.m. the Fri. day before publication. (!i !i i! !ii !i !i i ii!: ? ation 'the steering com- Junior Mental include Lori ulver, Joy Trent En- tlcini, Kara Schroer- at Memorial lie, and Vanessa n, Jen- ardt, Becky sa Webster, Matt Flake and students at gh School, a representa- School, Coomes Redeemer ,! Sister Chris- ,ipal at St. Ver- er birthday a Junior High will re- in Hu- of Dale of Wash. Street i: i Pr Locations Tandy Scholars Aaron Couture, a student at Mater Dei High School, Evansville, has been named an outstanding math/science/com- puter science student nominee for the Tandy Technology Schol-. ars program. Amy Folz, also a Mater Dei student, is a top two percent nominee in the Tandy program. Grand Award winners 1Warty Schnapf and Nathaniel Hayden, students at Memorial High School, Evansville, have been chosen as Grand Award Winners of the Ju- ried Exhibition of Student Art. They will each receive a check for $100 and a Certificate of Honor. Their art teacher, Mark Schoenbaum, will receive a check for $200. First place! Seventeen Mater Dei High School students were awarded ribbons at Castle High Schools Invitational. The English squad placed third, social studies, fine arts, science and math squads all finished fourth. Aaron Couture, Tony Fehrenbacher, Peter Stolz and Loretta Werner, members of the interdisciplinary squad, placed first. Readers' Theatre Jeff Corn, Sara Graham, Ashley Norris, Erin Wichman and Jessica Ausborn are mem- bers of the Readers' Theatre Club at Washington Catholic Middle School, Washington HIGHLAND CHAPEL 300 FIRST AVE. St. Joseph's Science Fair Winners at the Science Fair at St. Joseph School, Vander- burgh County, include: Grade six -- Mitch Happe, first; Jill Schlichting, second; Shay Grasso, third. Grade seven -- Tim Hertel, first; LeAndra Koch, second; Nick Gries, third. Grade eight -- Dan Werner, first; Roxie Helmer, second; Michael DeWitt, third. Arbor Day Lauren Sendelweck, a kindergartener at Good Shep- herd School, Evansville, is one of the Fox 44 Kid's Club and Colonial Garden Center Arbor Day winners. Cultural Fair winners The overall winner of the Cul- tural Fair winners at Precious Blood School, Jasper, include Tracy Wehr in science and Luke Wehr in social studies. Blue ribbon winners in the fifth grade were Andy Arehart, Rachel Birk, Mike Fromme, Audrey Fuhs, Chris Healy, Andy Klein, Chris Lechner, Jeremy Mehringer, Brad Merkel, Krista Rees, Alison Schepers, Ryan Sehnellen- berger, Luke Wehr, Tracy Wehr and Austin Zehr. Red ribbon winners were Nathaniel Frick and Laurel Woods. Adrien Jerger won a white rib- bon. In the fourth grade, Adam Ackerman, Tracy  Bailey, Kathryn Gramelspacher, John David Paar, Andy Sander, Jackie Schwenk and April Werner received blue rib- bons. Second place winners were Emily Collier, Carrie Fuhs and Jesse Scrmersheim. Nick Hoffman, Wayne Lechner, Brooke Oser, Sonya Weissling and Nathan Woods placed third Presidential Scholarships Brian Mullen and Eileen Weber, students at Washing. ton Catholic High School, Washington, have accepted Presidential Scholarships at the University of Southern Indiana. Freedom the World Over Angela James, Brandon Gogel and Lori Hagan are tak- ing part in the Freedom Festival essay contest =Freedom the World Over." They are fourth graders at St. Theresa School, Evansville. Choir members Leah Graham, Joanna Wagner, Lindsey Richardville, Lindsay Mat- tingly, Emily Riseh, Eliza- beth Collison, Kerri Webb, Melissa Mackey and Eliza- beth Wiehman are members of the fifth grade youth choir at Washington Catholic Middle School, Washington. KofC Hoop Shoot Winners of the K of C Hoop Shoot in Washington include Michael Dwyer, Scott Rleke Bryan Baumert, Audrey  Craney, Lesley Hayes, Ross Watkins, Tommy Tucker and Kerri Webb. Please send information for SCHOOL NOTEBOOK to Mary Ann Hughes, The Mes- sage, P.O. ,x 41(K, Evans- ville, IN 4. |. The deadline for copy is 9 a,m. he }riday before publication.