Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
March 21, 1997     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
March 21, 1997

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana 7 Notebook ials Middle are headed Olympiad )lace divi- Science Uni- is a rig- that als all events, their knowl- science, and Tom eth Amber Brian Logue, Andrew Deal, Jeremy Matick, Jimmy Hancock, Brett Keller, Suzanne Lacy, Maryanne Meyer, Jill Primus, Jared Rup- precht, Nathan Cantwell, Sarah Logue, Leah Emmons, Tim O'Rourke, Nicholas Stull, Tommy Dailey, Tad Keller, Jean Hancock, Drew Russell and Mark Watson. State competition Rachel Sammet, Jamie Spahn, Margaret Halbig and Valerie Murray, all students at Mater Dei High School, Evans- ville, received first place at the state vocal and piano competition in Indianapolis. Sara Burdette, Katie Baber and Connie Petrig received sec- ond place. Donation A check for $250 was presented recently to Dennis Bradley, prin.- cipal at the three Washington Catholic Schools, from Arnold's Red and White. The donation, raised by Arnold's customers, will ......................... be used for Washington Catholic's Technology Fund. Solo ensemble Christopher Beesley, Lind- sey Gillum, Rose Bradley, Rebecca Dennis, Fran Bradley, Heidi Litwiler, Amy Sponn and Paige Graham, students at Washington Catholic, received I ratings at the ISSMA Solo Emsemble competition. Fran Bradley, Katie Windes, Lindsey Gillum, Rose Bradley and Katie Windes received II ratings.. Forensics Gretchen Schlomer, a senior First place! at Marian Heights Academy, Ferdinand, has qualified for the Regional Forensics competition. Pennies for Patients Students at Rivet High School, Vincennes, have raised over $850 in the first Pennies for Patients pro- gram for the Leukemia Society of America. Rivet's sixth and seventh graders tied for the top fund-rais- ing award, and will be awarded a pizza party. ' Elena Smith, Lyndsay Sam- pies, Brittany Weiss, Michael Bateman, William McConnell and Lacy Bateman are also Sci- ence Fair award winners. J basketball team at , won the East/West 16'0. Team members second row, Jessica third row, Alison Miller, ;, Katherine Schaffer, mascot Raven, back Meyer, head coach, Jake L Shane Rummel, coach. Qualifying Cherie Hill, Pat Stuckemey. el', Sarah Snodgrass, Mary Engelland, Melissa Holt, Han- nah Pace, Roland Rosario, Melissa Killian, Mathew Power, Michael Breon, Elizabeth Nimnicht, Brandy Woerter, Emily Jones, Kelly Joergens and Luke Whetstine, students at Memorial High School, Evans- ville, qualified for the state solo and ensemble contests. The GMs Ensemble also quali- fied for state. Science Fair Third grader Melissa Shoultz won the top award at the Science Fail" at St. Joseph School, Princeton. Collecting Students at St. Theresa School, Evansville, are collect- ing items for the Ozanam Family Shelter as part of a service project for Lent. The shelter needs school sup- plies, toiletries, office supplies, baby items, bath and bedding items, and kitchen utensils. Cultural Fair at Precious Blood Troy Sergesketter, Erica Lamarche and Branon Buech- lein were the overall winners of the Cultural Fair at Precious Blood School, Jasper. Nick Aders, Mitch Basel, the Diocese Church, St. Henry, attend Mass ca Hall, while their church Henry St. been to the Hall. to the accord- ing to Benedictine Father Camillus Elispermann. In preparation for the renova- tion, parishioners moved most of the churchh interior items, includ- ing the Stations of the Cross, pews and statues, out of the church. The rectory basement now serves as a chapel for daily Mass. Father EIIspermann expects to have the ceiling work done by ! Holy Week, Dean's List Roxana Rosario has been named to the Dean's List at the Univbrsity of Dayton. Happy Birthday! Father John Breidenbach, pastor at Corpus Christi Church, Evansville, celebrates his birthday March 25. Golden Congratulations to Ardith and Barbara Gray, parishioners at St. Simon Church, Washing- ton, as they celebrate their gold- en wedding anniversary. Anniversaries of ordination Father Joseph Erbacher, pastor of St. Anthony Church, St. Anthony, was ordained a L(2. priest March 25, 9"' Father James Sauer, pastm" of Holy Rosary. Church, Evans- ville, was ordained a priest March 25, 1977. Father Kenneth Graehler, pastor of St. Mary Church, Sulli- van, and St. Joan of Arc Church, Jasonville, was ordained a priest March 30, 1963. Father Leo Kiesel, pmq'tor of St. John Church, Loogootee, was ordained a priest March 30. 1963. Msgr. Kenneth Knapp, vicar- general of the Diocese of Evans- ville, and pastor at Christ the King Church, Evansville, was ordained a priest March 30, 1963. Msgr. Charles Koch, judicial vicar of the Diocesan Tribunal, was ordained a priest March 30, 1963. He resides at 3115 Bayard Park Drive, Evansville IN 47714. Father Bernard Lutz, pastor of Holy Cross Church, Fort Branch, was ordained a priest March 30, 1963. Father Earl Rohleder, pastor at Holy Angels Church, New Harmony, was ordained a priest March 30, 1963. Benedictine ' Father ` Plus Michael Boehman, Corie Eck- erie, Lee Lueken, Tracy Mehringer, Danielle Patter- son, Alex Pfau, Alex Pittman, Kara Shaneyfelt, Eric Bailey, Jessica Beck, Christopher Bosler, Andy Eckerle, Nick Giesler, Tiffany Hedges, Bren- den Krodel, Ross Merdm; Greg Messmer, Christopher Schep- er Jordan Teder and }m. Voegerl received first place:::': " : Second place awards went to Noah Werner, Casey Zehr, ................. Jacob Brown, Amanda Brock- man, Lisa Campbell, Stuart Fuhs, Mark Past, Jerry Rob- ling, Jay Rumbach, Abby Sander, Katie Toy, Ashton Wes- sel and Scott Wilkerson. Please send information for SCHOOL NOTEBOOK to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47724. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publication. Klein, pastor of St. Mary Church, ttuntingburg, was ordained a priest March 31, 1974. Anniversaries at Sacred Heart Congratulations to couples at Sacred Heart Church, Vin: ..... cennes, celebrating March wed- ding anniversaries: Bob and Ceil Ryder, 67 years; Bob and Rose Marie Grumieaux, 46 years. President Joe Doyle, a member at St. John Church, Loogootee, has been named President of the Indi- ana Lumber and Builder's Supply Association, Please send information for AROUND THE DIOCESE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Mes- sage, P.O. Box 4169, Evans- ville, IN 47724. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publication.