Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
March 13, 1998     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
March 13, 1998

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana 7 t high school students at Sts. !, Haubstadt, babysit dur- a "parish Service," according to parish DRE. Above are Lisa e and Luke Lutz caring for : With St. Joseph associates and guests of the Secu- Carmelites recently attended a silent retreat entitled "A Retreat with St. Joseph" in Owensboro, Ky. Attending from the Diocese of Evansville were Tony and Pearline Kluemper and Walter and Janice Thompson, all from St. Joseph Church, Dale; Sheila Werne and Rita Ser- mersheim, from St. Mary Church, Huntingburg, and Pat Angermeier, from Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Evansville. Happy Birthday! Father William Deering, pastor at St. Bernard Church, Gibson County, and Blessed Sacrament Church, Oakland City, and diocesan director of worship and the RCIA, cele- brates his birthday March 16. Father John Davidson, pastor of St. Anthony Church, Evansville, celebrates his birthday March 17. Msgr. Kenneth Knapp, vicar-general of the Diocese of Evansville, pastor of Christ the King Church, Evansville, and temporary administrator at Holy Trinity Church, Evans- ville, celebrates his birthday March 18. Father Raymond Kuper, pastor of St. Agnes Church, Evansville, celebrates his birthday March 22. Anniversaries of ordination Father Sylvester Loehrlein, pastor of St. Rupert Church, Red Brush, was ordained a priest March 18, 1956. Father Donald Ackerman, pastor of St. John the Baptist Church, Vincennes, was ordained a priest March 18, 1961. Father Jack Durchholz, associate pastor at St. Ferdinand Church, Ferdinand, was ordained a priest March 18, 1995. 52 years Congratulations to Herbert and Ann Baldwin, parish- ioners at Nativity Church, Evansville, as they celebrate their fifty-second wedding anniversary. Anniversaries at Sacred Heart Congratulations to couples at Sacred Heart Church, Vin- cennes, who are celebrating February wedding anniversaries: Bob and Ceil Ryder, 68 vears: Bob and Rose Marie Gru- mieaux, 47 years. Retiring Mike Klem is retiring as Youth Director at St. Peter Celes- fine Church, Celestine, according to Father Robert Bultman, pastor. "When I asked him how Long he had served, he couldn't remember! Mike has seen and served hundreds of our teenagers over the last many years. And he has done it so well, and in such a Christ-like manner.'" St. Maria Goretti Molly Krode], a parishioner at St. Joseph Church, Jasper, received the St. Maria Goretti award at Youth Day. Anniversaries at St. Joseph Congratulations to couples at St. Joseph Church, Evans- ville, who are celebrating wedding anniversaries: Len and Bil- lye Bauza, 52 ),ears; Denis and Catherine Bitchier, 63 years. Please send information for AROUND THE DIOCESE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, EO. Box 4169, Evans- ville, IN 47724. The e-mail address is message@evans- Subject: Around the Diocese. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before pub- lication. )al currently the ROsary School, named princi- , Posey Coun- year. at Corpus e, cele- March 18. graders at St. Wendel, are the Pro- including and county :with the activi- under- stand the need for laws, the role of the legal system, and their rights as juveniles," said Ann Friedman, principal. The program will conclude with a field trip to the jail and court- house. Music teacher Ruth Coller is the new music teacher at Precious Blood School, Jasper. National Merit Karl Staser, a senior at Memorial High School, Evansville, has been named a National Merit Finalist. State qualifiers Scarlett Lant, Kristi Anwiler, Pat Stuckemeyer, Candice Siami, Jared Mosbey, John Rudolph, Clint Smith, Aaron Sisson, Sara Miller, Paul Pastora, Josh Carpen- ter, Ben Boutwell, Roland Rosario and Jeremy Funk qualified for state competition at the ISSMA district solo and ensemble contest. They are students at Memorial High School, Evansville. Division ! Cassie McCord" Jamie Schmitt, Margaret Halbig and Rachel Sam- mett received Division I ratings at the Vocal and Piano competition at the University of Evansville. They are students at Mater Dei High School, Evansville. Patrol award Jane Andrews is the winner of the third quarter North Civitan Safety Patrol Award for Westside Their pride and joy First graders in Kathy Schapker's class at Christ the King School, Evansville, decorat- ed cloth panels which Eloise Ziliak, mother of Joyce Rietman, CTK principal, then quilt- ed. Above, holding their wall hanging are Jor- dan Hayse and Abby Nalin, with Mrs. Ziliak. Catholic Consolidated School, Evansville. Bridge building Kendle Tieken, a student at Res- urrection School, Evansville, placed fourth in the Balsa Wood Bridge Building contest, held by the Amer- ican Society of Civil Engineers at the University of Evansville. Resurrection students Derek Herrmann and Kevin Tepool received eighth place, and David Owen and Logan Miller placed ninth. Teen Challenge Students from three schools in the Diocese of Evansville partici- pated in the fifth annual Teen Chal- lenge at Marian Heights Academy, Ferdinand. Members of the St. Joseph School, Vanderburgh County, team were Jennifer Lasher, Josh Richter, Patrick Fehrenbacher and Zach Spaetti. Members of the Holy Spirit School, Evansville, team were Kyndel Johnson, Damien Hobbs, Darin Willis and Skip Schroeder. Members of the St. Bernard School, Rockport, team were Jonathan Tharp, Jerad Yelland, David Bitchier and Ben Newkirk. Peace A poem by Memorial High School freshman Amy Clutter, titled Peace, has been selected for publication in the anthology A Cel- ebration of Young Poets. State award Celeste Lira received a first place rating in the Indiana State Music competition. She is a student at Marian Heights Academy, Ferdi, nand. Student Coundi Audrey Kempf, Kendra Weber, Zach Zirkelbach, Matthew Cough- lin, Penny Appler, Rachel Gar- land, Lindsay Martin, Shawn Hess and Lucas Barnett are March rep- resentatives on the Student Coun- cil at St. Joseph School, Vander- burgh County. Please fend information for SCHOOL NOTEBOOK to Mary Ann Hughes, The Meuase, P.O. Box 4169, Evatville, IN 47724. The e-mail address b messageOevans- villeav_q. Subject: SCHOOL NOTE- BOOK. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publication.