Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
February 26, 1993     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
February 26, 1993

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2021. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

26,1993 The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana 7 tree ev.i : Alternates were Julia Schenk, !bled at WCCS Herrmann.Michael Backes and Jeremy  graders at Westside ˘ Consolidated In.terme- Top spellers School, Evansville, arc ers of the Smoke-Free !f2000, according to their at Holy Family ri Sharry Thompson The Eric Durcholz is the winner of is sponsored by the the spelling bee at Holy Family Can Cancer Society, the School, Jasper. Jill Sergesketter Heart Association and rlcan Lung Association. tudents recently read the rae Price Is Life" and they .ledges to be "tobacco }r life." e Masterson is the win- !a contest to create a book- stressin the ' benefits of ]cco ree, the disadvan- attabacco addiction, or the quence of second hand |. , Thompson said. Nine a student at Mater Evansville, has scholarship to the Y of Evansville in the academic com- Dei students Jill Fehrenbacher also partici- program. All.State Band Chris Brenner al.  , a student at Ib',. uei High School, to tfu e, has earned admission Bd e2993 Indiana All-State • rio will play the eu ho- lu ia the ba PlaC a _ nd; he has een e. -rst chair in his section. Ihligion Bee ReSurrection f Catholic Schools at Resurrection ,articipated Austin place. Nick Wein- and Cary included: Laura Knapp, Kyle Babcock and aders  Michelle an Baumgart, and Daniel Iraders  Meg Lif- Top- Chris Kempf, Ann Weber, ar and Kara is runner-up. Girls State Bridget Hildenbrand, a junior at Marian Heights Academy, Ferdinand, has been chosen as her school's delegate to Hoosier Girls State. Ruby Carner of Evansville was chosen as an al- ternate. Writing awards Melanie Carson, Larissa Nay- lor and Carla Beckman, students at Marian Heights Academy, Ferdinand, have won publica- tion awards for their entries in the Fifth Annual Friends of Southern Hills writing contest. Geography Bee at Christ the King Vincent Bernardin is the win- der of the Geography Bee at Christ the King School, Evansville. He has completed the written examination to qualify at the state level. Top spellers at Good Shepherd Rhonda Margolis, an eighth grader at Good Shepherd School, Evansville, is the winner of the school spelling bee. Kendra Hedges is runner-up. Co-author Mary Kolle, a fourth grade teacher at Good Shepherd School, Evansville, is the co-au- thor of a booklet for tutors titled "Newspaper and the Adult New Reader." She wrote the booklet along with Jane Leingang of the Evansvile Courier Co.. CTK winners Violette Haws, Heather Alvey and Vincent Bernardin have won first places in the Optimist 6 Club Oratorical Contests. They are students at Christ the King School, Evansville. Stephanie Titzer, also a Christ the King student, won first place in Dramatic in the Optimist Club Oratorical Contests. Music awards Nick Lodato, Matt Enghauser and Rhonda Margolis, all stu- dents at Good Shepherd School, Evansville, received first place awards in the annual solo en- semble at the University of Evansville. Scott Henderson, Rob Smith, Sarah Hahn, Laura Head, Jes- sica Glover and Chris Helms placed second. Champions Members of the third and fourth grade basketball team at Corpus Christi School, Evansville, have won the St. Philip's basketball tournament. MH musicians Students at Marian Heights Academy, Ferdinand, received 23 first division ratings and one second division rating in compe- tition in Evansville Feb. 6. Meg Fortney, Melissa Mc- Clain, Mitsumi Kamoshida, Larissa Naylor, Carla Beckman, Tess Savok, Nichole Watson, Shelly Carson, Shawna Hick- man, Viola Coulter, Sabrina Gazda, Corteney White, Karina Bouffard, Kim Harris, Joy Jack- son, Elizabeth Satterwaite, Michelle Tamayo and Dulce Mu- relies received first division awards in vocal solo and piano solo. ............ Maureen Doherty, Gwynne Cameron, Larissa Naylor, Michelle Tamayo, Kim Harris and Joy Jackson and The Melodettes, also received first di- vision ratings in the ensemble di- vision. Please send information for SCHOOL NOTEBOOK to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47724, The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publication. Discipleship at Holy Rosary Parishioners at Holy Rosary Church, Evansville, are being en- couraged to got involved in the parish's Discipleship program, according to Father Jean Vogler, pastor. They are asked to fill out cards indicating what activities of the parish they are interested in, and the level of your financial sup- port of the work that God has given us at Holy Rosary." Father Vogler said parish- ioners are encouraged to "give back to God through the Church by using a percentage• Percent- age giving allows us to see our giving as a portion• It allows us to see it as a priority. We can start with a small percentage and in time raise the percentage." Members of the Discipleship Task Force incude John Durnin, Barbara Pulcini, Jim Quirk, Jim Flynn, Dr. Ken Dilger, Dr. Richard Sandefur and Janet Poehlein. Happy Birthday! Father Ralph Sddpp. chaplain at St. Mary's Medical Center, Evansville, celebrates his birth- day March 2. Father Francis Bauer. pastor of St. Bernard Church, Fort Branch, celebrates his birthday March 4. Father August Busch of Evansville. coordinator of the Clergy Assistance Pool, ce|e- brates his birthday March 4. Msgr. Charles Schoettelkotte. a retired priest in the Diocese of Evansville, celebrates his birth- day March 6. Anniversaries of ordination Father John Kane, pastor of Corpus Christi Church, Evansville, was ordained a priest March I, 1969. Father Kenneth Herr, pastor of Good Shepherd Church. Evansville, was ordained a priest March 2. 1968. Father Lowell Will, pastor of St. Peter Church, Montgomery, St. Patrick and St. Michael churches, both in Davieaa County was ordained a priest March 2, 1968. Msgr. Othmar Schroeder Award Matt Fromme. a member of St. Celestine Church, Celestine, has received the Msgr. Othmar- Schroeder Award. tie is the son of Glenndyl and Clara Fromme. Parvuli Dei Michael Feller has received the Parvuli Dei Scouting Award. He is a member of Cub Scout Pack 358 at St. Agnes Church, Evansville. Anniversaries at St. Theresa Congratulations to couples at St. Theresa Church, Evansville. celebrating wedding anniver- saries: Charlie and Helen Gubler, 44 years; Marvin and Leatrice Hardesty, 43 years; " Richard and Gertrude Schaaatz. 43 ),ears; Tom lind  Wa- then. 43 years. l ,, it ,,. ...... Piea send information for AROUND THE DIOCESE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Meuall