Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
February 13, 1998     The Message
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 7     (7 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
February 13, 1998

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana 7 day! Kaiser, pastor emeritus at Fort Branch, celebrates Feb. 17, a retired priest of the celebrates his bth- resides at 6161 Sunset Lane, Nest, Indianapolis IN 46208. Schroering, pastor of Sts. Church, Haubstadt, cele- Feb. 19. Renew at Sacred Heart Church, , are involved in two special pro- both active and inactive  program offers an opportu- are inactive Catholics. ' and Renew program is open in their faith, but to know more about it. include Mary and Shirley Haller, Wahnseidler, Jo and Jackie Kinsler, Wade Funke and Julie Hailer. of ordination Father Angelo at Providence Home to the priesthood Feb. :--4 Ioly Rosary placed in the vestibule Evansville, accord- parish proqife coordinator. When a woman realizes she is pregnant, she may take a rose from the table and place it in a vase before a statue of the Blessed Mother. On the day of the baby's baptism, the family takes the rose home after the ceremony. Anniveraries at Holy Family Congratulations to couples at Holy Family Church, Jasper, celebrating wedding anniver- saries: Leon and Betty Epple, 47 years; Francis and Mary Seibert, 58 years; Henry and Virlee Schroering, 42 years. Anniveraries at Nativity Congratulations to couples at Nativity Church, Evansville, celebrating February wedding anniversaries: Clarence and Ethel Drury, 59 years; Charles and Jeanette Hagman, 55 years. Prayer Chain Grace Hart serves as chairperson of the Prayer Chain at St. Agnes Church, Evansville. Spiritual Life and Worship Heather Bell, John Kane, Mary Killian, Michele Klipsch, Sue Schaeffer, David Trout, Sharon Trout, Gayle Uebelhor, Deacon Cy Will, Martha Yochum and Father Ted Tempel are members of the Spiritual Life and Worship Commission at Good Shepherd Church, Evansville. The commission is currently doing a parish survey. Treasure the Tradition The Parish Council at St. Agnes Church, Valerie Rhodes, Julie Lamey and Susan May read the Message as part of their religious education program at Sts. Peter and Paul Church, Haubstadt. Middle school and high school students in Catholic schools and religious education programs throughout the Diocese of Evansville receive the Message, thanks to a grant provided by St. Mary's Medical Center. g Evansville, has authorized a contribution of $2,000 a year for five years to the Treasure the Tradition capital campaign for Mater Dei and Memorial high schools, Evansville. The parish Men's Club has made a com- mitment of $2,500 to the campaign. The group plans to contribute $500 a year for the next five years. February wedding anniversaries: Wilma and Ray Voelker, 53 years; Avila and James Fehrenbacher, 52 years; Neacie and Donald Singleton, 47 years. Please send information for AROUND THE DIOCESE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47724. - e-'ose"k The e-mail address is message@evans- Anniveraries at St. Subject: Around the Diocese. The Congratulations to couples ,at St. Joseph deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before Church; Vanderburgh County, cerebrating : pubflcatI : $100 100 day of school Holy Cross looked at a few of Lance Barrett,  bank, Danielle ;lights up and ell, kinder- a car, Alyssa toys, Derek Tessa Jones, Brittany for my St. menu ary 13 Rib Buy presents for my family, Jessica Bender, first grade; Buy a new car for my morn, Bryce Stephens, first grade. WC School Board George Wilz has been elected president of the Washington Catholic School Board. Ron Morgan is vice-president, and Vince Sellers is secretary. WaI-Mart Teacher of the Year . Alana Fleetwood, a fourth-grade teacher at Resurrection School, Evansville, has been recognized as a 1997 Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year Grant Susan Ball, a teacher at Flaget Elementary School, V'mcennes, has received a two-year grant from the Indiana Department of Environmental Management for $2,500. The grant will be used to devel- op a web page which will contain WHOLESALE RETAIL CUSTOM PROCESSING MERKLEY & SONS PACKING CO., INC. 3994 W. 180N. 482-7020 educational information about recycling. Science Fair Jason Bittner is the grand prize winner of the Science Fair at Holy Redeemer School, Evansville. Michael Eisner won first place, Tara Shea placed second, and Cara Batema received third. Student Council Chris Collins, Danielle Dip.pel, Zach Garland, Jeremy Coomes, Mason Kempf, Jennifer Pope, Jacob Tison, Daniel Scheller and Andrew Kempf are February mem- bers of the Student Council at St. Joseph School, Vanderburgh County. Student teacher Elaine Griffin is student teaching at Rivet High School, Vincennes. DAR Matt Kiefer, a student at St. James School, Haubstadt, is his school's winner in the DAR essay contest. Quill and Scroll Three seniors at Mater Dei High School, Evansville, have won awards in the Quill and School yearbook excellence contest. Andrew Coomes won two national sweepstakes awards for his sports action photographs. Kathy Little, editor of the 1998 yearbook, received a national sweepstakes award for academic photography. Katie Faraone won a national sweepstakes award for feature pho- tography. 1,100 books Third, fourth and fifth graders at Precious Blood School, Jasper, read 1,100 books in their accelerat- ed reading program during first semester, according to Ron Pittman, principal. Please send information for SCHOOL NOTEBOOK to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47724. The e-mail address is message@evans- Subject: SCHOOL NOTE- BOOK. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publication. [ Saying thanks He told