Newspaper Archive of
The Message
Evansville, Indiana
January 15, 1988     The Message
PAGE 9     (9 of 24 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 9     (9 of 24 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
January 15, 1988

Newspaper Archive of The Message produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2020. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

January 15,1988 The Message -- for Catholics of Southwestern Indiana Around the Diocese 7 :ii!., ,:,::!: ............  "i! '''%  "? t .... ., ............. +: ........ j= u L  IU   Auction chairs Marjorie and Sig Labhart are auction chairpersons of the Third Annual Auction at Memorial High School, Evansville. The auction, which will be held Saturday, Feb. 20, is spon- sored by the Friends and Alumni Association. Kathy and Tim Hubert are co- chairpersons of the event. The two previous auctions have netted $50,000 for the high school. Essay contest Sunday, January 31, begins Catholic Schools Week for schools in the Diocese of Evansville. The Message is sponsoring an essay contest for all juniors in the five high schools in the diocese. Winning essays will be printed in, the Jan. 29 issue of the Message. Please send information for SCHOOL NOTEBOOK to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47711. FRED PALMER Fund drive The Washington Catholic School Fund Drive Chairman Fred Palmer has announced that 412,000 has been pledged toward the goal of $494,000. The organizing committee for the drive includes Phil Wichman, Joyce and Larry Brochin, Mike Wichman, Bonnie and Jim Warne, Frank Niehaus, Mary Jo Wichman, Don and Jemmie LaGrange, Bob Graham HI and David Snow Other workers are Mary Jane ,,>ottoms, Everett Ballangse, Bey Bernath, Linda Canova, Margaret Clauss, Fred and Rita Craney, John Dayton, Bill Delaney, Dot Doyle, Randy Haag, Terry Hilderbrand, Bill Larkin, Asil and Betsy May, Pam McAtee, Dick and Shirley McDonald, Mike Mischler, Hank and Sue Mitchell, Brenda Mullen, Bill Ricke, Bruce and Katie Smith, Jim and Jan Steimel, R.J. Stout, Karen Streicher, Carol and Jim Templin, Joe Titzer, Bob Weber, Mark Wichman, Chuck and Roberta Wichman, John Wilson, Steve Wolsiffer, Joe O'Brian, Matt Michaels and Kenny Smith. SADD billboard Memorial High School junior Becky Owen has created a design for a bilboard for the SADD organization. The billboard is located at Lincoln and Dexter. Naegele's Outdoor Advertising Co furnished the space and 25 students painted the ad. Essay contest Kari Wright and Kelly Kaiser were Serra Club essay contest winners from St. Benedict School, Evansville. Both are eighth graders. Coloring contest Students at St. Benedict School, Evansville, who were winners of the coloring contest sponsored by the Evansville Post Office were Lori Stofleth, Jillian Andrews, Aimee Hebbeler, Ar- thur Butler, Danny Steclder and ]oey Toruatore. Presentation Paul Olaser, right, and Denis Birclder present a check for $2780 to Sister Beata Melding, director of Marian Day School, Evansville. The money was a gift from the Knights of St. John 345 and St. Bernadette Auxiliary 280, both of Haubstadt. ii!ii!iii!!ilil iiiiiii!iiiii :ii!!ilii!i!ii ii:iiiiiiiiil Youth ministry Father Dick Wildeman, pastor of St. Mary Church, Sullivan, is chairman of the Youth Ministry Executive Board for the Diocese c of Evansville. The board is responsible for "setting direction and policy for youth ministry in the diocese," according to Father Dave Fleck, diocesan director of Youth Ministry. Kathy McGrath of Evansville is vice-chairman of the board and Kristine Arvin of Loogootee is secretary. Other board members are Lin- da Cropp, Loogootee; Antonette Harris, Princeton; Father Mark Kurzendoerfer, Evansville; Jason Martin, Evansville; Beth Nord, !)' Jasper; John Schroering, Jasper; Mike Seibert, Newburgh; Father Robert Temme, Washington and Sister Catherine White. Evansville. Bishop Francis R. Shea and Msgr. Kenneth Knapp are ex- officio board members. Knights of St: John New officers for the St. Wendel Knights of St. John are Anthony Martin, president; Leo Will, first vice-president; Steve Spindler, second vice-president;John Dur-' cholz, recording secretary; Ray Andrews, treasurer, and Norbert Members of the Youth Ministry Executive Board for the Diocese of Evansville are, front row: Father David Fleck, Kathy McGrath, Kristine Arvin, Father Dick Wildeman; second row: Father Bob Temme, Beth Nord, Sister Cathy White, Antonette Harris, John Schroering, Jason Martin, Mike Seibert and Father Mark Kurzendoerfer. Anniversary Congratulations to Louis and Betty Mize as they celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. They are members of St. John the Bap- tist Church, Vincennes. Happy birthday YelUg,_ SCHNELLfinancial secretarY.VlLLE I Please patronize businesses which advertise in the Message! FOR COMPLETE [  PARTY& DANCE I r ELECTRICAL SERVICE I i : '^suvNv^ AllAges I l DI IVE'D H.G. FISCHER [,00IN00LtS i [ ,,f JSn ] RT. 1 ST. ANTHONY FORD - LINCOLN - MERCURY 48=-t '00_. Father Carl Kunlder of Pro- vidence Home, Jasper. celebrates his birthday January 18. Father Clarence Schlacter of Evansville celebrates his birthday January 21. Father John Boeglin of St. Celestine Church, Celestine, celebrates his birthday January 22. Celebrating their birthdays on January 23 are Father Eugene Heerdink, Father Joseph Kane of Precious Blood Church, Jasper and Father James Lex of St. ,John Church, Loogootee. ;, New officers OITie Thomas has been elected president o the Men's Club at SLI Joseph Church, Evansville. ; Chris Appler is vice-president. Scott Appler is secretary and Paul Banmgart is treasurer. New Year's dance ............................. :' Donna and Mark Tucker chaired the New Year's Eve I Dance at Holy Redeemer Church, Evansville. Please send information for PEOPLE to Mary Ann Hughes, The Message, P.O. Box 4169, Evansville, IN 47711. The deadline for copy is 9 a.m. the Friday before publication date.